AS

[TO BE INTRODUCED IN THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY]

A

BILL

further to amend the National Commission on the Status of Women Act, 2012 (VIII of 2012).

WHEREAS it is expedient further to amend the National Commission on the Status of Women Act, 2012 for the purposes hereinafter appearing;

It is hereby enacted as follows:-

 <u>Short title and commencement</u>.- (1) This Act may be called the National Commission on the Status of Women (Amendment) Act, 2016.

(2) It shall come into force at once.

2. <u>Amendment of section 4, Act VIII of 2012</u>.- In the National Commission on the Status of Women Act 2012 (VIII of 2012), here in after referred to as the said Act in Section 4, after sub-section (5) the following new sub-section (6) shall be added, namely:-

"(6) A vacancy of Chairperson shall be filled as provided in the Act within thirty days of the occurrence of the vacancy."

3. <u>Amendment of section 8, Act VIII of 2012</u>.- In the said Act, in Section 8, the words "or until the appointment of a new Chairperson, whichever is earlier", shall be omitted.

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The National Commission on the Status of Women was established to protect the rights of women, which is more than half of the total population of the country. It is noteworthy that any statutory body can play its due role, if it is given due/sanctioned workforce. The Chairperson of the National Commission on the Status of Women has central place to make sure results oriented performance of the Commission; however, the law does not give a time frame to the Government to appoint permanent Chairperson of the Commission, therefore, the effectiveness of the Commission is undermined. Likewise, the present Commission has been working without a permanent Chairperson for the last many months. Therefore, it is needed that the existing law of Commission should be amended to give a clear time frame to the Government to appoint Chairperson to make the Commission more effective.

Sd/-

DR. NIKHAT SHAKEEL KHAN, MR. MUHAMMAD MUZAMMIL QURESHI MS. SAMAN SULTANA JAFRI, SHEIKH SALAHUDDIN Members, National Assembly.