Last Updated On: 22nd January 2021, 09:49 AM
Home | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
| Today In National Assembly: 10:30 AM: National Assembly Session | Committee Meetings:10:30 AM: Meeting of the Sub-Committee of the Special Committee on Agricultural Products (Cancelled) at Constitution Room | 11:30 AM: Meeting of the Sub-Committee-VI of the PAC at Committee Room No.2 Parliament House, Islamabad | 02:00 PM: Meeting of the Sub-Committee of the Standing Committee on Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development at Committee Room No.7 |

Press Release Details

Share Print
National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) meets
Thursday, 7th January, 2021

Islamabad; January 7th, 2021: The National Assembly Standing Committee on States and Frontier Regions (SAFRON) met today at 11:00 a.m. in Committee Room of PIPS, Parliament Lodges, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Mr. Sajid Khan, MNA.

2.         The Committee discussed the issue of doubling of Medical seats across the country in compliance of the Cabinet decision made in its meeting held on 2nd March, 2017 at length. During meeting, the Committee Members showed their great concern over the non-cooperative attitude of Pakistan Medical Commission (PMC), being a Federal Entity it was the responsibility of the PMC to coordinate and implement the decision of the Cabinet and Parliament and Standing Committees of both National Assembly and Senate. It is creating hindrance in resolved problem previous year which is a national commitment with people of Erstwhile FATA. The Committee directed the Secretary, PMC to issue notification of doubling the existing quota for Erstwhile FATA students in Medical Colleges across the country for the next nine years by Monday the 11th January, 2021. The Committee also expressed its displeasure over the absence of President, PMC in the meeting and directed the President, PMC to appear before the Committee in person in the next special meeting of the Committee to be held on Tuesday, the 12th January, 2021 after resolving the issue and in line with mechanism adopted for the previous year. It was further decided during meeting, that the Committee would move Privilege Motion against the President, PMC if not issued the Notification by coming Monday.

3.         The meeting was attended by MNAs: Mr. Gul Dad Khan, Mr. Gul Zafar Khan, Mr. Abdul Shakoor Shad, Ms. Aliya Hamza Malik, Mst. Shaheen Naz Saifullah, Nawabzada Shah Zain Bughti, Mr. Muhammad Afzal Khokhar, Chaudry Muhammad Ashraf, Ms. Aysha Rajab Ali, and Mr. Muhammad Jamal Ud Din and Sahibzada Muhammad Mahboob Sultan, Minister for SAFRON and Officers/Officials of the Ministry and its attached Departments.