Last Updated On: 22nd May 2020, 02:58 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The National Assembly has been summoned to meet on Friday, the 5th June, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. in the Parliament House, Islamabad|

Press Release Details

Share Print
National Assembly Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges Meets
Wednesday, 21st August, 2019

               Islamabad, 21st August, 2019: A meeting of the National Assembly Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges was held today at 11:00 a.m in Committee Room No. 5, Parliament House, Islamabad under the Chairmanship of Rana Muhammad Qasim Noon, MNA.

1.             On the Question of Privilege raised by Ch. Abid Raza, MNA, regarding implicating the Hon. Member in a false politically motivated case in Kakarali Police Station, Gujrat by registering a fabricated FIR against him and alleged attempt by Mian Tahir Bashir, SP, Headquarter and Mian Muhamamd Arshad, DSP alongwith police force to forcibly occupy his property, the Committee disposed off the matter with consent of the mover.

2.             On the issue of Air Tickets and vouchers to the Hon. Members and the conversion of those Air Tickets into credit cards, the Committee recommended that Joint Secretary (Administration), Deputy Secretary (Services) of the National Assembly and Chief Commercial officer, Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) will propose their recommendations in this regard.

3.             The Committee pended the amendments moved by Ms. Shazia Marri, MNA till its next meeting of the Committee.

4.             Dr. Nafisa Shah, (MNA/Mover) of agenda No. 6 briefed the Committee about the salient features of proposed amendment in rules 69, 122 & 244. The Minister for Parliamentary Affairs informed that amendments in rule No. 69 of the rules of procedure and the conduct of Business have already been recommended by the Committee for further approval of the National Assembly(House). The Committee also admired the efforts made by Dr. Nafisa Shah, MNA for strengthening the Legislative Business in the National Assembly. The Committee unanimously recommended that amendments in rules 122 & 244 proposed by Dr. Nafisa Shah, MNA may be forwarded to the Honorable Speaker for further deliberation in the House.

5.             The Committee discussed the Question of privilege raised by Mr. Faheem Khan, MNA regarding withdrawal of security of the Honorable Member. DIG (Admn), Sindh Police, briefed the Committee in that regard. However, the Committee decided that Home Secretary and Inspector General of Police, Sindh may be called in its next meeting.

6.              The Committee expressed its displeasure on the absence of senior officers from Ministry of Power, Zonal Chairman WAPDA, M&T, XEN Sukkur, and Chief Executive, Sukkur Electricity Power Company (SEPCO) with regard to the Question of privilege raised by Pir Syed Fazal Ali Shah Jillani, MNA regarding alleged disconnection of Electricity of his house.

7.             The Committee disposed off the Question of privilege raised by Mr. Muhammad Aslam Khan, MNA regarding misbehavior of Mr. Arshad Nabi Bhutto, Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) New Karachi with consent of the mover.

8.             The meeting was attended by Rana Muhammad Qasim Noon, Mr. Nawab Sher, Mr. Khuram Shehzad, Mr. Muhammad Sajjad, Chaudhry Armaghan Subhani, Mr. Mohsin Nawaz Ranjha, Mr. Ghulam Muhammad Lali, Mr. Nawab Sher, Syed Murtaza Mahmud, Rai Muhammad Murtaza Iqbal, Mr. Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhary, Pir Syed Fazal Ali Shah Jillani, Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Ms. Shagufta Jumani, MNAs. The meeting was also attended by Mr. Ali Muhammad Khan, MNA/Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Ch. Abid Raza, Mr. Faheem Khan, Mr. Muhammad Aslam khan and Dr. Nafisa Shah, (MNA/Mover).