Last Updated On: 10th December 2019, 08:58 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Friday, the 13th December, 2019, at 10:30 a.m. | Committee Meetings:10:30 AM: Interior (Revised) at Committee Room No. 7 | 02:00 PM: 8th Meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and Members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (in-camera) (Revised) at Committee Room No.5 (Constitution Room) | 03:00 PM: Meeting of Sub-Committee of the SC on House & Library of the National Assembly-REVISED (Change of Venue) at Conference Room of SDGs Secretariat, 3rd Floor, Parliament House, Islamabad |

Press Release Details

Share Print
4th meeting of the Standing Committee on Human Rights was held today
Thursday, 8th August, 2019

Islamabad, the 8th August, 2019: The 4th meeting of the Standing Committee on Human Rights was held today at 2:00 p.m. in Committee Room No. 2, Parliament House, Islamabad, under the chairmanship of Mr. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, MNA. The Committee approved the minutes of its previous meeting held 20.05.2019.

The Committee unanimously passed the resolution and condemned the violation of Human Rights and genocide of Kashmiri Muslims in Indian occupied Kashmir by the Indian Government. The Committee highly appreciated the unified role of the Parliament on this issue. The Committee condemned the political victimization of political leaders.

The Committee considered the report of the Sub-Committee on Human Rights on the Bills. The Committee approved the repot of the Sub-Committee and decided to defer “The Zainab Alert, Response and Recovery Act, 2019” till its next meeting for further deliberation. The Committee was briefed by the Regional Police Officer, Multan on the  the incident happened in the jurisdiction  of Police Station Qutab Pur, Multan on 03.05.2019 regarding illegal dentition and torture of three brothers (matter referred by the Honourable Speaker to the Committee). The Committee was not satisfied by the briefing and report. The Committee decided to appoint a Sub-Committee on this issue.

The Committee deferred the agenda items regarding the status of implementation of the Judgment of the Supreme Court of Pakistan dated 19th June, 2014 and the commitments made with United Nations (UN) and all other international bodies along with current status with respect of the Child Protection and Safety and Security of Journalists with the directions to brief the Committee in its next meeting.

Ms. Kishwer Zehra, Ms. Ghazala Saifi, Ms. Rukhsana Naveed, Ms. Zille Huma, Ms. Fouzia Behram, Mr. Muhammad Khan Daha, Shazia Marri, Dr. Mahreen Razzaq Bhutto, and Mr. James Iqbal MNAs/Members attended the meeting. The meeting was also attended by Ms, Aliya Kamran, MNA (Mover), Senator (Rtd.) Mr. Farhatullah Khan Babar, Senator (Rtd.) Mr. Babar Awan attended the meeting as Special Invitees and Mr. Lal Chand Malhi, MNA/Parliamentry Secretary M/o Human Rights and senior officers of the Ministry of Human Rights attended the meeting.