Last Updated On: 18th January 2019, 04:36 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The Sitting of the National Assembly has been adjourned to meet again on Monday, the 21st January, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

Press Release Details

Share Print
NA Standing Committee on Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony meets
Monday, 8th January, 2018

A meeting of the Standing Committee on Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony held today in the Committee Room # 7, Parliament House, Islamabad, under the Chairpersonship of Ms. Shagufta Jumani, MNA.

2.          The Committee considered the comprehensive report/implementation status of the recommendations of the previous meetings.

3.         Sardar Muhammad Yousaf, Minister for Religious Affairs and Inter-faith Harmony informed the Committee that Cabinet has constituted a Special Committee consisting of 8 Ministers for supervisions, troubleshooting and implementation of Hajj Policy, 2018 with reference to observations of Cabinet members and directions of Cabinet.

4.         The Committee was briefed about the visit of the official high level delegation to pay homage to the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) on behalf of people of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan at Roza-e-Rasool (PBUH) during 8-14 December, 2017.

5.         The Committee discussed in detail the issue of the conversion of 500 service visas into Mujamla visas by the Ministry. Secretary Ministry of Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony clarified that Mujamla visa was a courtesy visa offered by the Government of the Kingkom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) and was directly managed by the Saudi Embassy in Islamabad. The Ministry had no relevance/concern with issuance of Mujamla visa.

6.         Hajj Organizers Association of Pakistan (HOAP) also briefed the Committee about the concerns of the Private Tour Operators. The Committee recommended that the previous percentage of Hajj quota which was 60/40 percent might be restored for Hajj, 2018.

7.         All the concerned assured the Committee that all out efforts would be made to facilitate the Hujjaj during the ensuing Hajj-2018.          

8.         MNAs Malik Abdul Ghaffar Dogar, Syed Imran Ahmed Shah, Sahibzada Faiz-ul-Hussan, Mr. Bismillah Khan, Muhammad Kamal Malik, Ms. Kiran Imran Dar, Ms. Shaida Akhtar Ali, Sahibzada Muhammad Yaqub, Mr. Lal Chand Malhi and Molvi Agha Muhammad attended the meeting.