Last Updated On: 19th June 2018, 02:18 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
Under Article 53(8) When the National Assembly is dissolved, the Speaker shall continue in his office till the person elected to fill the office by the next Assembly enters upon his office

Press Release Details

Share Print
Meeting of the Standing Committee on Climate Change meets
Friday, 8th September, 2017

A meeting of the Standing Committee on Climate Change was held on 8th September, 2017 in Parliament House. The Standing Committee discussed the steps taken by the Forest Department, Government of Punjab to stop deforestation and what measures have been taken to address vulnerability of Climate Change in the Province. The S/C expressed dissatisfaction over the said briefing and suggested that a detailed briefing along with facts and figures on “Green Pakistan Programme” should be given to the Committee.

The Committee also showed displeasure and deferred the agenda regarding the report of addition of the poisonous substance to water in the Rawal Dam, Islamabad and recommended that the officials from CDA, CADD, Interior Ministry, Commissioner of MCI and ICT must be called to attend the next meeting. Later on the briefing was also given to the S/C on the recent monsoon in the country.


·        The Committee strongly condemned the killings, rape and massacres of Burmee Muslims in the hands of the Myanmar Government and urged the United Nations and International Community to condemn the massacre of the Burmee Muslims and play their role in preventing the atrocities of the Muslims of Burma.

·        The Committee also recommended to withdraw the Noble Price for Peace from the Aung San Suu Kyi who has been keeping quit on the Myanmar Muslims massacres.

Members who attended the meeting Dr. Hafeez-ur-Rehman Khan Drishak, Chiarman, MNA, Malik Ihtebar Khan, MNA, Mr. Salman Hanif, MNA, Mr. Muhammad Moeen Wattoo, MNA, Ms. Shaista Pervaiz, MNA, Ms. Shahnaz Saleem, MNA, Ms. Mussarat Ahmed Zeb, MNA, Ms. Naeema Kishwer Khan, MNA, Ms. Khalida Mansoor, MNA, Mr. Shah Jahan Baloch, MNA, Ms. Nighat Parveen Mir, MNA, Mr. Imran Zafar Leghari, MNA and Mr. Mushahid-ullah-Khan, Minister for Climate Change (Ex-officio Member).