Last Updated On: 19th April 2018, 03:50 PM
Home | Feedback | Advertisments | Careers | Downloads | Useful Links | FAQs | Contact Us 
The National Assembly has been summoned to meet on Friday, the 27th April, 2018 at 4:30 p.m. in the Parliament House, Islamabad | Committee Meetings:11:00 AM: Cabinet Secretariat at Committee Room No.7 | 11:00 AM: 1st Meeting of the Sub-Committee of the Standing Committee on Government Assurances at Committee Room of PIPS Hall, Parliament Lodges, Islamabad | 11:30 AM: Information, Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage at Conference Room of PTVC, Headquarters, Islamabad | 02:00 PM: Law and Justice at Committee Room No.7 |

Press Release Details

Share Print
NA Standing Committee on Textile Industry Meets
Friday, 3rd March, 2017


The Standing Committee was briefly apprised about the budgetary proposals relating to Public Sector Development Programme (PSDP) for the next financial year 2017-18. The Committee endorsed all the budgetary proposals of the ministry for the current financial year 2017-18. The meeting of the Standing Committee on Textile Industry held today in M/o Textile Industry under the Acting Chairmanship of Haji Akram Ansari, MNA.

The Committee appreciated the efforts of the ministry for encouraging the growth of cotton by using modern techniques and methods however, recommended that awareness should be given to the cotton growers and farmers through electronic and press media which could be helpful to increase the cotton growth in the Country. The Committee also recommended that Government should ban the establishment of sugar mills especially in cotton growing areas so that the growth of cotton could not be affected. The Committee further recommended that incentives should also be given to the cotton industry to develop the interest of farmers in cotton growing so that the huge revenue could be added to the Government exchequer.

Earlier, Mr. Hassan Iqbal, Secretary, M/o Textile Industry briefly apprised the Committee about the detail of the projects included in the forth-coming Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) for the year 2017-18.    

MNAs, Sardar Muhammad Shafqat Hayat Khan, Rana Umer Nazir Khan, Malik Muhammad Uzair Khan, Mian Shahid Hussain Khan Bhatti, Malik Shakir Bashir Awan, Ms . Belum Hasnain, Malik Abdul Ghaffar Dogar, Mr. Muhammad Ayaz Soomro, Mr. Jamshaid Ahmed Dasti, Col. (R) Dr. Amir Ullah Marwat attended the meeting, besides the officials of the Ministry.